The One Weird Reason Why I’m Finishing This Blog

I baited and you clicked, so let’s do this.

First, the blog will end in about six months.  I still have some time and some stuff I want to say, and I’m going to say it.  Mostly it will be further debauched tales and making fun of mainland Chinese.

Second, the reason is not what you think.  I promised you a weird reason, and a weird reason you shall have.

It is not because I have run out of puff.  I’ve got stacks of puff.

It is not because I’m scared of being doxxed.  That’s highly unlikely because this blog receives so little traffic, and deservedly so.

It is not because I’ve got some terrible disease or am suffering a major mental breakdown.  My mental state has been like this since I was a child and it’s never done me any harm.

It’s not because I’ve had a change of heart on the shibboleths of the dark enlightenment.  I was never convinced by all of them.  Monarchies suck arse.  I don’t mind foreigners too much.  Public education and health care strongly correlate with civilization.  I still hate the politically correct straitjacket we’re put in when trying to discuss these issues.  Yes, people are different.  Democracy is almost as bad as monarchy.  Violent dimwits are breeding.  Whatareyagunnado.

And it’s not because I’ve fallen in love with some floozy and she’s ordered me to shut up shop.  None of you seriously suspected that, did you?

Nope, the reason is I’m planning to move to a new location.  A remote, third world country where the internet is patchy and unreliable, not to mention power and water.  It is unlikely that I’ll be able to update this blog weekly so what’s the point.  I’ll just mothball it and think about what to do with it later if I get out of there alive.

So what am I going to do in the absence of regular use of the internet?  I’m going to get fit, meditate and read.  Hopefully write a second novel less shit than the first.  I am trying to read through the Western canon, together with some Eastern classics, but I’m still stuck in the early Roman Empire.  Like the Gauls, a wag might say.  This is the break I need to release time and get things done.  Please send me your reading suggestions –  just classics that I may not have heard of, for now.  I have no time for fripperies.

So, six more months or so of posts and then . . . not goodbye; let’s just call it: ‘Smell you later’.

 

Further Reading:  How Acknowledging Death Can Improve Your Life

9 comments

  1. luisman · January 15

    I live in a 3rd world country for >10 years and the internet was patchy for a long time. For around a year now I have 20Mb/s fiber – not patchy at all, but you can run a blog with a patchy 2Mb/s connection just as well.

    Reading: Jordan B. Peterson “Maps of Meaning”. It was recently available on his personal website as a pdf for free.

    Like

    • Nikolai Vladivostok · January 15

      Cheers for the tip.
      The place I’m going to is poorly connected – even embassies have difficulty.

      Like

  2. bucky · January 16

    Are you going to Mongolia? Were I a younger, single man, that’s where I’d go, if I decided to be hardcore about it. Learn to ride horses and shoot arrows, and brush up on my wrestling. Learn the language and have a torrid, dangerous affair with a local beauty (Mongolian women are very beautiful, from what I’ve seen). This is my list, from most to least hardcore:

    1) Mongolia
    2) Madagascar
    3) Vietnam
    4) Brazil
    5) Romania

    In reality, I’d probably just go somewhere with pretty girls and low prices where I already know the language.

    Like

  3. Old Goat · January 16

    Wishing you the best on your trip. The experience may give you new inspiration to post again in the future.

    Like

  4. Eduardo the Magnificent · January 16

    Enjoy your escape. Though I got a feeling you’re going to get an itching to share an insight or two with us soon after you get there. Writers gonna write.

    Like

  5. abstract · January 17

    Hopefully you’ll find better internet than you were expecting. I have enjoyed your blog, however infrequently you post.

    Like

    • Nikolai Vladivostok · January 18

      Kindle plus solar battery is exactly what my company recommended. I’m terrified that the thing might break – then what? I’d be forced to have a conversation or something.

      Like

  6. Anonymous · January 17

    I for one really like your writing, so I’d appreciate it if you would archive a mailing list or something that would allow you to get back in touch with your readers after you have an even greater insight into life.

    For reading I’d suggest getting a solar panel, a battery(http://www.goalzero.com), and a large capacity kindle with some sort of water proof case. Then go to somewhere like http://gen.lib.rus.ec/, and don’t limit yourself on your availability of reading material. I don’t think human kind has ever invented anything more important than written communication, because it allows the transmission of succinct ideas across time, and space.

    I read one to two chapters of a new book every morning. The ones I like I put on a list to read later. After reading something I really like I put it on my list to reread after a month, but less than 6 months. I find it became second nature to apply the new knowledge that I’ve learned reading after making a conscious to apply new knowledge on a regular basis.

    When I’m struggling with a new concept that I’m reading about, I find it’s really useful to take a break from it, and use other parts of my brain. I like using Rosetta Stone, and miscellaneous puzzle books. Since I doubt you’ll have regular power Rosetta Stone is probably out of the question. I’m partial to math books like Inside Interesting Integrals, and Mathematical Curiosities, but all you need to do is get on amazon, and look at the recommendations for related puzzle books. Then download them from one of the many free pirate sites.

    Godspeed

    Like

  7. aimsmallmisssmall · February 11

    Good luck sir…You’ll be missed…

    Like

Leave a Reply

