My Realistic Plan for Freedom

LSW_CROY_M_1993_1809.jpg

Petherick, Horace William; The Exodus; Croydon Art Collection; http://www.artuk.org/artworks/the-exodus-88609

Some time ago I posted a highly trafficked article entitled How to be Free.  Its tone was crude, nihilistic and bombastic, getting me (rightly) blacklisted from several AltRight sites.  My rudeness to commenters probably didn’t help.

This is not an apology.

In short, the article described my plan to save enough money so that if I ever lost my job and was rendered unemployable (quite possible in my field) I would be able to escape to the Third World and live out my days in frugal comfort.

Well, I had made some mathematical errors in currency conversions and was actually a little short of my goal but now, yep, I can do it.  Just.  Seven hundred US dollars a month for the rest of my life, all things being equal.  If it comes to that and I suffer an expensive medical condition in old age, my plan would be to swim far out into the foaming brine and take it from there.  We must accept the consequences of our decisions.

Anyway, I didn’t intend to quit my job.  The freedom plan was to ensure I was never trapped anywhere I didn’t want to be, and never beholden to anyone.

Lately I’ve been considering my future more seriously and here are some salient conclusions I have reached:

  • I like work.  Regular work.  It gets me out of bed and into routine.  I’m even more efficient in my free time when I have a job because I make the most of each spare moment.
  • When I have a long break I eventually become lethargic, even if I am working on my own projects.
  • I currently work too much.  I get exhausted and I barely spend half my money anyway.
  • Seneca, a Stoic philosopher from ancient Rome, wrote to his protege about money.  His correspondent had a high ranking government position and was planning on saving enough so that he could safely withdraw from society and pursue a philosophical life.  Seneca asked him a key question that I had not properly considered before: How much is enough?  The answer should not be, ‘Enough to retire’ but rather should be a specific dollar amount.  Whatever our financial goals, that is a question we should all ask ourselves.  If we fail to do so we may chase our tails.
  • One day I will die.  I have maybe 50 years left on this planet (inshallah), perhaps 30 of which will be in rude good health.  It’s important that I make the most of the time I have left.  It is my most precious possession.  I should spend as much time as possible doing the things I value and as little as possible doing things I despise, i.e. overworking.
  • I am inspired by Nietzsche’s Superman, the man who rejects all received morals and instead chooses his own virtues and path in life.

So put it all together and what does it equal?

My new plan for freedom

I will work full-time for three more years, continuing to live frugally, save and invest.  All things being equal, this is about how long it will take to save enough for a modest but comfortable retirement in an inexpensive country.  Mind you, this amount would not be enough to retire straight away.  With reasonable returns and average levels of inflation, it would be sufficient to retire on around US$20,000 per year in today’s money when I reach age 65.  It is not a lot.  It is enough.

After I have saved this amount my goal is to work enough to live, freed as I would be from the requirement to save.  I hope that I can find part-time work.  Imagine having a long weekend every week!  Or getting home every afternoon at three o’clock.  Hmm.  It may be difficult to find such work in my field due to visa difficulties etc., but I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.  Another option might be to find an alternative stream of income.  After all, I will not need much.  This stage I call ‘Chillax’.

Working part time would be better for me than dropping out altogether because it would keep me in routine, keep me sharp, keep me honest.  In my expanded free time I would do more of the things that I value: write, pursue online business opportunities, do more exercise and meditation, cook, travel, drink single malt scotch (cheap in Asia!), hike, swim, entertain the hoochimamas, study languages and read, read, read.

If I make it to 65ish despite my debauched lifestyle I will probably be able to fully retire and focus what little time and energy remain on whatever interests that future person may have.

Some may contend that my plan is intensely self-centred.  It is, and I am.  It offers no plan to improve the world, preserve my tribe or even to liberate women and coloured people.  I choose my own values and reject others in an entirely subjective manner.  Don’t tell the commoners, though.  Us Illuminati will be better off if the rabble continue to believe in their dead gods and follow the primitive laws; working hard, voting, paying tax, having children, sending them to university, borrowing money for houses and cars, paying off the minimum each month.  Getting Botox, watching TV shows about cooking and playing computer games.  Reading Jezebel and Breitbart.  Porking up on low fat corn syrup.  Having strong opinions about trannies in toilets.  They are simple people and they are happier that way.  Only a small minority of men are psychologically capable of escaping slavery.  If all men’s minds were free, society would collapse.

You may know the saying, ‘Men plan and God laughs.’  Things can and will go wrong.  In fact, sudden events recently plunged the whole Project Freedom into catastrophic jeopardy, a comeuppance which will no doubt cheer my enemies who wince at my repulsive arrogance.  Enjoy my tale of woe in the coming post, friends.  May you all follow Nietzsche’s lead and go mad from syphilis.

 

Further Reading: Why You Shouldn’t Go For the $1,200/Month ‘Location Independent Life’ (from This is Trouble).

Follow me on Twitter: @nvladivostok1

10 comments

  1. luisman · July 13, 2016

    I wrote a similar article less than a year ago as guest author for a rather popular German manosphere website. That got me started blogging a few months later and I reposted the article on my own blog.
    https://luismanblog.wordpress.com/2015/11/13/freiheit-oh-freiheit/
    It’s in German only and I’m too lazy to translate it, so use goggle translate or whatever. The main topic is how to plan and achieve financial independency technically and the mindset you need to do this.

    I’m always wondering why people have that urge to work and seem to be unable to find much else sense in life than that. The point of financial independency is not to just be free of the daily grind and live a senseless life on the fringes in a cheap country. The point is that you are free to do anything you like or love to do. You like to work full time for a charity w/o pay? You can. You like to drip honey on your balls and have two girls lick it off or indulge in any other sexual pleasures, every day, any time? You can. You’d love to do research in a field noone believes in now and strive for a nobel price? You can. You can work, but you don’t have to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nikolai Vladivostok · July 13, 2016

      Absolutely. Reading Nietzsche, the stoics and epicureans made me realize, most people give zero thought to what they want to do during their limited years on earth. They just do what they are expected to do, or they imitate the herd. Our choices are not infinite but they are at least multiple.
      I don’t want to encourage the masses to think this way, though. Busy beta bees build modern civilization and all its conveniences.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Adam · July 13, 2016

    I’m struggling to understand how the original article you wrote, (How to be free), got you blacklisted from alt-right sites. It seems pretty stock-standard to me.

    Like

    • Nikolai Vladivostok · July 13, 2016

      I was dropped from some link sites around that time. Makes a good story. Anyway, some altrighters are becoming as prescriptive as the loony left. You must asset a long list of shibboleths before your can enter their club. I’d prefer this dark corner of the internet to be a place where the open-minded can freely consider ‘hate truths’, as you call them.

      Like

  3. charlessledge001 · July 17, 2016

    Well certainly wish you the best. Agreed having a daily routine helps to keep one in shape (in all facets not just physical). Also one hundred percent that not all men are capable of freedom. I used to be of the mind that if people were simply exposed to the truth that they would fight tooth and nail to break from their chains but reality shows otherwise.
    People like being slaves. There is a simpleness in slavery, you don’t have to think, you don’t have to fight, you just submit and go where the current takes you. Only a few men can rise above this and become free. Humans are unique animals because they are the only animal that has the capacity to rise above their animalistic nature. Yet most do not and never will.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nikolai Vladivostok · July 17, 2016

      I was thinking that very thing yesterday. Most people don’t reflect on their lives, they just live. Like a bear snuffling around in the forest.

      Like

  4. Pingback: How to be Free | SovietMen
  5. Pingback: Sympathy for the Devil | SovietMen
  6. Pingback: Isolation | SovietMen
  7. Pingback: The Good Life | SovietMen

Leave a Reply

